Who does what

The NSDNR website does not provide much detail about who does what at DNR beyond listing some of the staff in various sections. There is next to no information about the qualifications and backgrounds of directors and staff.

The Minister of NSDNR is Lloyd Hines. The Deputy Minister of the Department of Natural Resources is Frank Dunn. A brief c.v. is given for Frank Dunn. Allan Eddy is Associate Deputy Director.

In a November 30, 2016 Press Release, the McNeil Government announced that Julie Towers would replace Frank Nunn and Deputy Minister effective December 12, 2016. Also, Alan Eddy would be moved to another department. No announcement on a possible replacement for Eddy yet. See A welcome change in NSDNR bureaucracy. There is currently (Dec 20, 2016) a Bio for Julie Towers on the website for Aboriginal Affairs; from that Bio: “Julie Towers was appointed the Deputy Minister and CEO of the Office of Aboriginal Affairs in March 2014… Julie started her career as a wildlife biologist after earning Bachelor and Master of Science degrees from the University of Toronto and University of New Brunswick. Before becoming Deputy Minister and CEO of Aboriginal Affairs, Julie worked in applied research, environmental education and forest, parks and wildlife management.”

There are 5 branches: Renewable Resources, Regional Services, Geoscience & Mines Branch, Land Services, Policy, Planning and Support Services.

The Renewable Resources Branch is responsible for forests and forestry. The Executive Director is Jonathan Porter. “The Renewable Resources Branch provides coordination and leadership on policy, planning and program development including industry development and resource promotion, marketing, resource inventories and research, and the preparation of strategies and plans for the integrated development, management and conservation of the province’s forests, parks and wildlife resources.” The Branch is comprised of the following divisions:
– Forestry
– Parks and Recreation
– Program Development
– Wildlife
– Resource Management
For each there is a bulleted list of responsibilities.

The Forestry Staff Directory is not easy to find as it’s not listed on site navigation menus. On the Forestry Staff Directory page, individual staff are listed under
– Administration and Support Services (Director: Jonathan Kierstead; + 3 admin staff)
– Research & Planning (Manager: Bruce Stewart; + 6 staff)
– Management Planning (Manager: Matt Parker; + 7 staff)
– Forest Inventory (Manager: Chris Bailey + 14 staff)
– Scaling & Registry of Buyers (Manager: Kevin Hudson + 3 staff)
– Strathlorne Forest Nursery (Manager: Doug Beaton + 2 staff)

The page cites names, position description ( e.g. GIS specialist, Forester) and gives a phone number and e-mail contact. There is no information about more specific responsibilities, ongoing projects, or qualifications.

Not listed on the Forestry Staff Directory page but pertinent to forest management are staff in the Wildlife Division. There seems to be no list of staff. Three staff are cited under Biodiversity Program Overview, but there are others in this division.

It appears that most communication with the public is channeled through the DNR Media Room for which Bruce Nunn is the contact.

It has been noted that senior appointees in forestry are “company men”: “Allan Eddy a former senior forester with NSP,[is] now Associate Deputy Minister of the DNR; former woodlands manager of Resolute Forest Products, Jon Porter, … currently holds the position of Executive Director of the department’s renewable resources branch, and Jonathan Kierstead, now Director of Forestry, [was] also formerly with Resolute.”(See Article by Linda Pannozzo.)

Forest Biodiversity Science Advisory Committee
“On August 27, 2015, The Department of Natural Resources announced a new Forest Biodiversity Science Advisory Committee to enhance the management of Nova Scotia’s Crown-owned woodlands. During quarterly meetings, the members will share knowledge and guidance as Nova Scotia moves to landscape scale management of Crown-owned lands.” Except for this statement I couldn’t find any details searching for the committee by name on the NSDNR website. An item in Pulp&PaperCanada.Com lists the committee members:
– Sherman Boates, Department of Natural Resources, PhD, chair
– Peter Duinker, Dalhousie University, PhD, forest science expert
– Tom Herman, Acadia University, PhD, biodiversity expert
– Thom Erdle, University of New Brunswick, PhD, spatial modelling expert
– Graham Forbes, University of New Brunswick, PhD, ecological planning expert
– Peter Bush, Department of Natural Resources, PhD
“During quarterly meetings, the members share knowledge and guidance as Nova Scotia moves to landscape-scale management of Crown-owned lands. Only 35 per cent of all land in Nova Scotia is owned by the province. Meaning most forest lands in the province are privately owned and managed.
“The members of the new committee have very extensive and broad experience of biodiversity science,” said Sherman Boates, chair of the committee. “Their independent advice will improve government’s capacity to address complex biodiversity conservation and resource-use issues.”
Page posted Sep 25, 2016 | Last Update on Dec 20, 2016

shopify analytics ecommerce